Motivation – What Motivates you?

Motivation – noun – the act or an instance of motivating, or providing with a reason to act in a certain way. 

For some time now, I have been pondering on a question many of you may know very well: What motivates us to do what we do? As described above, motivations bring us to act in a certain way – maybe due to our challenges, or a yearning for proving someone wrong. 

I chose to share my thoughts on this topic because of a recent experience. Most of you might know already, but for those who don’t, I have a Mechanical Engineering degree from Wentworth. And the profession comes with its own hurdles – mine being their design software. I.e. Solidworks, and AutoCAD. I am not an expert in these programs and I have recently decided that it was time to improve my skills but time after time, things didn’t work out as I had hoped. 

Although I failed more times than I would have liked, I continued. Finally, however, my frustrations grew and I paused – this is where I found myself thinking about why I even doing this. After thinking about all the positive that will come from that experience (working with design software), I continued. A couple of days later, I asked a few friends what motivated them, some of the answers were as such: 

– helping others

– The creative processes involved in their work

– Money

– World domination

From the above responses, I understood that each was looking to improve their current situations. I believe that provoking yourself by recollection (whatever this could mean for you) can help you realize where you’ve been, how you got to where you are, and how you plan on achieving the goals you’ve set. I have had very numerous opportunities (personal & professional) afforded me because of my education background and work experience. And from each of those experiences, I have always looked to improve. So what motivates me? A lot of things – an opportunity to help someone, personal and professional improvement. Or rather, world domination as a friend put it. 

How can you improve your motivations about what YOU do? I suggest these steps: 

1. Determine goals

2. Maintain a positive attitude

3. Upgrade your knowledge and skills (stay current in your field)

4. Eliminate energy drains 

5. Be passionate

6. Meditate

7. Acknowledge and reward your success

8. Confront challenges and fears

There are plenty more but these few I got from the good people at www.edudemic.com

In everything you do, however, do it with integrity, be other-centered, and do it excellently. 

Be blessed!!

-NRK

Leave a Reply

