Who Are You Not To Be?

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous. Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others…” – Marianne Williamson

Sometimes, we psych ourselves out of being who we are really meant to be. We fear the outcome. Questions like these come up: Will it be like I want it? What will people think about me if do it? Will I be alienated because of this journey? I have dealt with this same spirit of doubt. I have noticed that when God is about to move in our lives, problems start to arise. When these problems come, we start doubting whether we’ll be able to get to the next stage.

God calls us to a life of faith. We must spend quality time with our Lord so we can recognize His voice. So when God says, “Come,” our only response ought to be, “Here I am Lord.” Our past experiences may scream, it’s not possible; you’re going to fail. Although we cannot see the finish line yet, we must trust that God will provide a solid foundation for us to tackle whatever it is that comes our way.

So, who are you not to be? I want to be a lot of things. I want to be a kingdom man with God’s presence. I want to be a great husband and father to our baby girl (she’s going to be here end of March – ahhhhh!!!!!). I want to be a successful professional engineer. I want to be a writer. The list goes on. I know that in God’s perfect timing, these things will come to pass. However in the journey to achieve these goals, I have shrunk due to fear of failure or judgment, etc.

The one thing that I strongly believe in my heart is that I want to encourage people. I want to uplift the heartbroken, the distraught, and the ones who can’t seem to make ends meet. I have been able to do that through many mediums. After I started my blog, I was worried that people wouldn’t read it and I’d be writing for naught. I stopped writing for a while because I didn’t think I’d be reaching people. Nevertheless, I don’t feel that way anymore. I left in God’s hands trusting that those who need it will be encouraged once they read it.

Like Marianne Williamson said, “You are a child of God.” Go on and shine. Who are you not to be exceptional in all that you do? Be liberated from your fears so that your presence can liberate others.

Be encouraged that God counts you among His beloved. God values you. Be free. Live. Be happy. Trust in God for all your needs.

Leave a Reply

